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MEMORANDUM
TO: LANDLORDS OF SPRINGDALE, ARKANSAS
FROM: ERNEST B. CATE, CITY ATTORNEﬁ
RE: FILING CHARGES FOR FAILURE TO PAY RENT/REFUSAL TO

VACATE AFTER 10 DAYS WRITTEN NOTICE

The purpose of this letter is to set out to you the procedure that will be followed
when you desire to prosecute tenants for failure to pay rent/refusal to vacate
upon written notice. A copy of the law, which is Ark. Code Ann. §18-16-101, is
attached. Also is an example notice to vacate showing what goes in each blank,
and then a blank notice to vacate. The last enclosure is entitled “What You
Should Know About Landlord/Tenant Rights,” and was obtained from the web
page of the Arkansas Attorney General’s Office.

First of all, remember there are two ways to proceed against a tenant who has
failed to pay rent. Through my office you are filing charges as a criminal action,
and this will not cost you any money since it is a violation of Arkansas law to
hold over after 10 days written notice. You can also file a civil action against the
tenant and you will need to contact your private attorney to file this action. I am
primarily setting out the criminal procedure in this letter, but you can proceed
criminally, civilly or with both type actions.

What you are filing through my office is a violation of Arkansas law. For me to
prosecute this violation, you will need to make sure that the tenant has failed to
pay rent under the agreement that you had with them (either oral or written
agreement) and that you have given them 10 days written notice to vacate the
premises for failure to pay rent. After 10 days passes from the day notice is first
served on the tenant, come by my office to file charges, bring a copy of the notice
that was served, as well as a copy of any written lease agreement you may have.
Also, a rental application containing information on the tenant is also helpful.

Previously, if a defendant was convicted of violating this law, they could only be
fined $25 for each day that they failed to vacate the premises. However, the 2001



General Assembly of the Arkansas Legislature added a new provision that if the tenant pleads
not guilty to the charge of refusal to vacate, but continues to reside on the premises, the tenant
shall be required to deposit with the court an amount equal to the rent due on the premises. If
the tenant is subsequently found guilty of failure to vacate, failure of the tenant to pay this
amount to the court shall result in the charge being a Class B misdemeanor, which means the
tenant can be punished by up to a $1,000 fine, and 90 days in jail. If the tenant has paid the
amount and is found guilty, then this money goes to the landlord, and if found not guilty, the
money is returned to the tenant.

This law provides that each day the tenant holds over, after the 10 days written notice is
served upon them, is a separate offense. Our District Judge has ruled that the 10 day notice
has to be on the written document that you serve on the person if we are to get a conviction on
criminal charges. I have prepared a form to specifically comply with the criminal charge and
you are welcome to have a copy of the form. You can have notice to vacate served on the
tenant in one of three ways:

1. You can serve the paper yourself by delivering a copy to the tenant (if there is more than
one tenant that you want to have served, you will need to provide a copy to each tenant

you serve);

2. You can have a Sheriff’s deputy or process server, serve the notice for you (they usually
charge a fee for this service and I will be happy to tell you how you can make contact with

them);

3. You can serve the tenant by certified mail, (restricted delivery to the party you are serving).

If you serve the tenant yourself, it is a good idea to get a witness to go with you so the tenant
will not come to court and deny that they ever got the notice. A witness can be anyone,
(preferably at least 18 years of age) friend or relative. However, I will not require you to have

a witness before you file charges.

If you desire to file a civil action against the tenant also, please contact your own attorney and
they can explain the procedure to you. I understand the problem you are dealing with,
because even though the tenant stays at your property and does not pay rent, you still have to
make mortgage payments on the property. I will help you to the fullest legal extent that I can,
and will be glad to answer further questions that you may have. Hopefully, we can solve this
problem as quick as possible without further inconvenience to you.

EBC:ch
enclosures: copy of Ark. Code Ann. §18-16-101 (Act 1733 of 2001)

sample notice
blank notice



Ark. Code Ann. 18-16-101. Failure to pay rent — Refusal to vacate upon notice — Penalty.

(a) Any person who shall rent any dwelling house or other building or any land situated in
the State of Arkansas and who shall refuse or fail to pay the rent therefor when due according
to contract shall at once forfeit all right to longer occupy the dwelling house or other building
or land.

(b)(1) If, after ten (10) days' notice in writing shall have been given by the landlord or the
landlord's agent or attorney to the tenant to vacate the dwelling house or other building or
land, the tenant shall willfully refuse to vacate and surrender the possession of the premises to
the landlord or the landlord's agent or attorney, the tenant shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

(2) Upon conviction before any justice of the peace or other court of competent jurisdiction in
the county where the premises are situated, the tenant shall be fined twenty-five dollars
($25.00) per day for each day that the tenant fails to vacate the premises.

(c)(1) Any tenant charged with refusal to vacate upon notice who enters a plea of not guilty to
the charge of refusal to vacate upon notice and who continues to inhabit the premises after
notice to vacate pursuant to subsection (b) of this section shall be required to deposit into the
registry of the court a sum equal to the amount of rent due on the premises. The rental
payments shall continue to be paid into the registry of the court during the pendency of the
proceedings in accordance with the rental agreement between the landlord and the tenant,
whether the agreement is written or oral.

(2)(A) If the tenant is found not guilty of refusal to vacate upon notice, the rental payments
shall be returned to the tenant. ‘

(B) If the tenant is found guilty of refusal to vacate upon notice, the rental payment paid into
the registry of the court shall be paid over to the landlord by the court clerk.

(3) Any tenant who pleads guilty or nolo contendere to or is found guilty of refusal to vacate
upon notice and has not paid the required rental payments into the registry of the court shall
be guilty of a Class B misdemeanor.

History. Acts 1901, No. 122, § 1, p. 193; C. & M. Dig., § 6569; Acts
1937, No. 129, § 1; Pope's Dig., § 8599; Acts 2001, No. 1733, § 1.

A.5.A.1947, § 50-523.



(SAMPLE) NOTICE TO VACATE

TO: (Name of Renter)

(Rental property street address)

(City, State, Zip Code)

YOU ARE HEREBY NOTIFIED TO surrender and deliver to (Landlord’s Name)

or their authorized agent, on or before ten (10) days from the date of

service of this notice, the following property and premises now occupied by you and to the

possession of which (Landlord’s Name) is entitled,

in Washington County, Arkansas:

(Rental property street address)

(City, State, Zip Code)

“Any tenant who shall willfully refuse to vacate and surrender the possession of the premises
to the landlord or his agent or attorney, after ten (10) days notice in writing given by the landlord, his
agent, or attorney, to the tenant to vacate the dwelling house or other building or land, is guilty of

violating Ark. Code. Ann. §18-16-101.”

Landlord’s signature

RETURN

On this day of , 20 , I have duly served the

within notice by delivering the same to the within (Renter’s Name(s)

at (address of rental property)

By

Landlord or his Agent

WITNESS (if applicable) DATE



NOTICE TO VACATE

TO:

YOU ARE HEREBY NOTIFIED TO surrender and deliver to

or their authorized agent, on or before ten (10) days from the date of

service of this notice, the following property and premises now occupied by you and to the

possession of which is entitled, in

Washington County, Arkansas:

“Any tenant who shall willfully refuse to vacate and surrender the possession of the premises
to the landlord or his agent or attorney, after ten (10) days notice in writing given by the landlord, his
agent, or attorney, to the tenant to vacate the dwelling house or other building or land, is guilty of

violating Ark. Code. Ann. §18-16-101.”

RETURN

On this day of y 20 , I have duly served the

within notice by delivering the same to the within

at

By

Landlord or his Agent

WITNESS (if applicable) DATE



